NFL UK Media Awards: MVP

NFL UK Media Awards: MVP
Reading Time: 2 minutes.

The NFL UK Media Awards winners are in. The NFL UK Media Awards voting is made up of 50 voters in the UK NFL Media. Here is how they have voted for.

The MVP is the coup de gras of the league, the award everyone wants. The British media MVP is the same man expected to be announced as MVP at NFL Honours: Aaron Rodgers.  

Brady v Rodgers 

It should be noted that these votes were submitted before Tom Brady retired – which would surely have locked up the MVP as a legacy award if nothing else. But Brady deserves the MVP for this season in its own right. The former Bucs QB was comparable or better to Rodgers in most metrics over the season, bar interceptions. Add to that setting the passing yards record. In New England.  

Aaron Rodgers has had a very good season, with 4,115 yards, 37 TDs and 4 INTs at a completion percentage of 68.9%. He led the Packers to the top seed in the NFC with a 13-3 record ahead of the final day loss to the Lions.  

Rodgers was the runaway winner for MVP but he was far from the unanimous pick. Rodgers had 20 of the 41 votes as the panel were heavily split. The next highest vote tally was 7 for Tom Brady, despite a historic final year in the league.  

Joe Burrow received a couple of votes, as the Bengals’ surge towards the AFC North turned heads.  

25% of the votes went to skill position players  

Cooper Kupp and Jonathan Taylor split 10 votes between them. Both were standout performers in each position, leading the league in receiving and rushing respectively. While the MVP was based on regular season, Cooper Kupp has shown how key he is to the Rams in their run to the Super Bowl. Kupp was just shy of being the first receiver with 2,000 yards, with 1,947. Davante Adams was 394 yards short of this in second place.   

Meanwhile, the Colts struggled when they couldn’t get Taylor going on the ground. Taylor ended the season with 1,811 yards, the next closest back, Nick Chubb, had just 70% of Taylor’s mark. 

The case for the defence  

Perhaps a sign of how split the panel were was a defensive player receiving two votes. TJ Watt got a pair of votes following a season where he equalled Michael Strahan’s record for sacks of 22.5, after the statisticians were cruel to him in week 18. Watt equalled the record despite missing two games and was a huge reason the Steelers snuck into the playoffs.  

Aaron Rodgers 20 
Tom Brady 
Cooper Kupp 
Jonathan Taylor 
Joe Burrow 
TJ Watt 

Check out all the NFL UK Media Award Winners Here.

Who would have won your awards? let us know on twitter @NinetyNineYards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: