A CFL team by team decade review (2010-2019)

A CFL team by team decade review (2010-2019)
Reading Time: 4 minutes.

Welcome to a a team by team CFL decade review covering the years 2010-2019. As we come to the end of a year we often get reflective.

Well, now we are at the end of a decade. So that offers a perfect opportunity to see how successful – or otherwise – teams have been over that span.

2010-2019 has been a decade that saw eight different teams lift the Grey Cup. But even the winners have had very different decades to one another.

Montreal Alouettes

The decade started with the Alouettes winning the Grey Cup in 2010. The Als were the defending champions having won in 2009. Through the 2000’s the Als had been a competitive team. Surely this would continue into the 2010’s? Not entirely.

Throughout the decade they went 81-99 and appeared in the playoffs on six occasions. They went 3-5 in those playoff games. The low point was not making the playoffs from 2015-2018 and going 3-15 in 2017.

There is much optimism in Montreal just now though. Especially as they made their first playoff appearance in half a decade.

BC Lions

The BC Lions won the Grey Cup in 2011. In fact the run from 2011-2012 proved to be the high point for the Leos. Over those two seasons they went 24-12 and picked up a Grey Cup.

Throughout the decade they went 92-88 and appeared in the playoffs on eight occasions. They will hope the next decade sees them improve on their 3-7 playoff record over that period.

Toronto Argonauts

The Argos are one of only two teams to win the Grey Cup more than once in the 2010’s. They picked up the trophy in 2012 & 2017.

The one thing Toronto has not managed throughout the decade is consistent success. Over that time they went 75-105. (Going 4-14 in back to back seasons in 2018 & 2019 really hurt those numbers).

The Boatmen appeared in the playoffs on five occasions and went 6-3 in those games.

Saskatchewan Roughriders

The Saskatchewan Roughriders won all the marbles in 2013. Some recompense for being the team on the losing end when the Als opened the decade with a win (see above).

Throughout the decade they went 87-93. They appeared in the playoffs on seven occasions and went 6-6 in those games.

Rider fans will be greatly encouraged by the consistency they have started to show, winning at least 10 games in each of the past three seasons, going 35-19 over that span and being within one game of the Grey Cup twice.

Calgary Stampeders

The Stamps can legitimately claim to have been the CFL team of the decade in the 2010’s.

Calgary appeared in the playoffs every year of the decade. They contested the Grey Cup on five occasions, winning it twice in 2014 & 2018.

Across the decade they amassed an astonishing 132-46-2 record. They appeared in the playoffs ten times and went 10-7 in playoff games.

Fans of the Stampeders will be hoping for more of the same level of dominance in the decade to come.

Edmonton Eskimos

The team from Edmonton picked up the Grey Cup in 2015. The ‘Esks 14th Grey Cup win was their only appearance in the big game of the decade.

Throughout the decade they went 94-86. They appeared in the playoffs on seven occasions. Those post-season sojourns saw the Esks go 7-6.

Edmonton fans will be dreaming of a return to the sort of league dominance their team displayed 40 years ago.


The REDBLACKS only started playing in 2014. However following a 2-16 expansion season they went on a remarkable run.

Between 2015 and 2018 the REDBLACKS made the playoffs every year, contested the Grey Cup on three occasions and won it all in 2016.

Since 2014 Ottawa have compiled a 44-62-2 record. Poor seasons in 2014 & 2019 have badly affected those numbers.

The REDBLACKS appeared in the playoffs 4 times. The postseason has seen them go 4-3. After a poor 2019 season Ottawa fans will be hoping to get back to regularly contesting the playoffs.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Winnipeg broke the longest running CFL championship drought by winning the grey Cup this year. Incredibly this was their first championship since 1990.

The Blue Bombers did contest the Grey Cup in 2011, but lost out to BC (see above).

Throughout the decade they went 79-101. Whilst they have had some down seasons, Blue Bomber faithful will have enjoyed the consistency they have shown since 2016 in going 44-28 and finally winning the big one.

Winnipeg appeared in the playoffs 5 times in the 2010’s (4 of those 5 appearances coming in the last 4 years). During that time they have held a playoff record of 5-4.

Hamilton Tiger-Cats

The Tiger-Cats are the only CFL team not to win the Grey Cup in the last decade.

Having lost in the championship game this year they now own the longest drought since winning the big one. The Tabbies last won it all in 1999.

Throughout the decade they went 88-92. During that run they appeared in the playoffs on 8 occasions.

Hamilton’s post-season record over the decade was 7-8. Only Calgary appeared in more playoff contests during the decade. The Tiger-Cats also made it to the Grey Cup on three occasions. Unfortunately for them they lost each time in 2013, 2014 & 2019.

Hamilton fans will have been encouraged by their record setting season in 2019.

Looking ahead

Now it is time to look ahead to the next decade. The 2020 Schedule has already been released.

Will Calgary dominate again? Will an unexpected team rise up? Could we see a tenth team added. Could CFL 2.0 see a Brit in the CFL?

As ever, we don’t know yet but it’ll be a lot of fun finding out. Here’s to the next ten years and beyond.

Banner Image: National Post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: