It’s Here! The UK NFL Media All Pro Team Announcement

It’s Here! The UK NFL Media All Pro Team Announcement
Reading Time: 3 minutes.

It’s here! Ninety-Nine Yards is proud to release the first annual UK NFL Media All Pro Team. We created a panel of 40 writers, podcasters and presenters, including a fan of every team to vote for who they think have been the best performers of the 2020 season. The results are in and have been verified. Let’s get down to it.

We’ll be releasing an in-depth breakdown of each position this week but here is a summary of the results.

UK NFL Media All Pro Offence

All Pro Offence

Unsurprisingly, Aaron Rodgers won the praise of British writers and fans to take the All Pro for QB, joined by Derrick Henry in recognition for his 2000-yard season, only the eighth in NFL history. Travis Kelce earned 37 of the TE 40 votes, the second most consensus pick behind Aaron Donald.

There was clear consensus at receiver, with Stefon Diggs & Davante Adams taking 30 of the 40 votes each. Justin Jefferson was the next most popular option with five votes. In one of the more contested votes, Cole Beasley took the Slot Receiver award, with 10 of the 39 votes, ahead of Tyler Lockett, Keenan Allen & Chris Godwin.

On the offensive line, much like the AP All Pro, David Bakhtiari, Quenton Nelson, Corey Linsley & Jack Conklin got the nod. However British voters chose Browns’ Right Guard Wyatt Teller over Brandon Scherff.

UK NFL Media All Pro Defence

All Pro Defence

Moving to the other side of the ball, T.J. Watt & Myles Garrett were the picks on the edge. Watt led the league with 15 sacks while Garrett was sixth with 12, despite missing a couple of games. The most popular pick was Aaron Donald at DT – who was second in the league in sacks despite playing on the interior. Donald scored 38 of the 40 votes. He’s joined by DeForest Buckner inside.

There was a decent split of votes between the linebackers with Darius Leonard (21 votes), Fred Warner (20 votes) & Bobby Wagner (18 votes) making the cut. Devin White was the closest but missed out with 13 votes.

In the secondary, Xavien Howard, and Jalen Ramsey were joined by Jaire Alexander at cornerback. This will prove some consolation for Alexander having missed out on the AP All Pro defence. Over the middle, Minkah Fitzpatrick and Tyrann Mathieu (16 votes each) edged out Jessie Bates (12 votes) to earn the two spots at Safety.

UK NFL Media All Pro Special Teams

All Pro Special Teams

Of course we didn’t forget special teams. Justin Tucker won a close contest to earn the start at Kicker over AP All Pro Jason Sanders while the closest contest came at Punter. Jake Bailey got 10 of the 38 votes to beat out Seahawks’ Michael Dickson and take the honours. There was more consensus among the returners as Cordarrelle Patterson took the Kick Returner slot with 29 votes. Gunner Olszewski won the Punt Returner role. Rounding out the team, George Odum as the designated Special Teamer on a highly split ballot, with 18 players getting at least one vote.

We want to thank everyone for taking part and look forward to you joining the debate next year.

Keep an eye out, we will be announcing the UK NFL Media Awards in the run up to NFL Honours. Watch this space!

Image: Touchdown Wire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: