Grey Cup hosts announced for 2020 and 2021

Grey Cup hosts announced for 2020 and 2021
Reading Time: 2 minutes.

The next two Grey Cup cities have been announced. In what is thought to be a first for the CFL, they have announced a double allocation of future Grey Cup games.

The league’s marquee game has been awarded to Saskatchewan for 2020. It will be contested in 2021 in Hamilton.

Needless to say both organisations are already celebrating and planning for the chance to hold the show.

Montreal had also made a bid. However, the CFL suggested that
“2021 was not an option for them because of expected renovations at Olympic Stadium”.

Calgary will be hosting its fifth grey Cup game in 2019. Which means Saskatchewan and Hamilton have plenty of time to prepare.

Saskatchewan has held the Cup 4 times before now. Most recently in 2013, when ironically the Riders beat the Ti-Cats in the 101st Cup game.

Hamilton have hosted the championship game 10 times up to now. However only two of those can be considered as ‘modern era’ games in 1972 and most recently in 1996.

The last time they hosted


The Regina Grey Cup in 2020 will mark the first championship game for the new Mosaic Stadium, the $278 million structure that debuted in 2017.

Last time Saskatchewan hosted was 2013. The 101st Grey Cup was a huge celebration for Riderville as they ousted Hamilton 45-23.

44,710 fans turned out at Mosaic Stadium. The CFL will surely be expecting Mosaic to be full to capacity.

The 11-7 Riders were led to victory that year by newly appointed Argos coach Corey Chamblin.


The 2021 event will also be the first Grey Cup at Tim Hortons Field, the stadium that opened in 2015.

The 84th Grey Cup aka the Snow Bowl saw the 15-3 Doug Flutie led Toronto Argonauts beat the Edmonton Eskimos 43-37 before 38,595 people at Ivor Wynne Stadium.

Photo copyright:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: