Winnipeg MOP up at CFL awards

Winnipeg MOP up at CFL awards
Reading Time: 4 minutes.

Winnipeg MOP up at CFL awards

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers just keep on winning. As well as aiming for a threepeat, having won the Grey Cup in 2019 2021, they are also mopping up when it comes to the league awards.

For the headline player awards, and Coach award they took home the silverware in four of the seven categories. Highlighting how dominant they have been off the back of a 15-3 season.

Fans in Winnipeg are getting used to this level of success too. Because last year the Blue Bombers picked up four awards too. In fact, three of the recipeints for the Blue and Gold have won their awards in back to back seasons. This was the second straight year that Collaros (MOP), Bryant (MOOL), & O’Shea (Coach), picked up awards.  

The two time MOP Award winner – Zach Collaros

Zach Collaros won it last year. Meaning he joined some pretty special company as back to back winners are rare. He became only the fifth player in CFL history to win the MOP award in consecutive seasons. Following in the footsteps of Jackie Parker (Edmonton, 1957-58), Winnipeg’s Dieter Brock (1980-81), Doug Flutie (1991-94 and 1996-97) and Montreal’s Anthony Calvillo (2008-09).

He finsihed the season going 305 of 436 passing for 4183 yards and 37 touchdowns. which led to Winnipeg finishing first in offensive touchdowns and first downs made, and second in offensive points.

How did 99 Yards call it? I would say this award is nailed on for Collaros to pick up his second MOP award in a row.

Most Outstanding offensive Lineman – Stanley Bryant

Stanley Bryant becomes the first player to win four Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman awards (2017, 2018, 2021 & 2022).

He led a line that allowed the second fewest sacks (29), while registering the second-most rushing yards, & scoring the most offensive touchdowns 

How did 99 Yards call it? These things often go on reputation, and with the dominance of the Winnipeg O this year you could see Bryant burnishing his already HOF worthy CV.

Most Outstanding Defensive Player – Lorenzo Mauldin IV

Mauldin settled well in his first season in Ottawa. A league leading 17 sacks saw him become the first Ottawa player to lead the league in this category since 1992.

He also added 43 defensive tackles, two forced fumbles, three pass knockdowns and five tackles for a loss.

How did 99 Yards call it? This award depends how people see it. Some will see Mauldin having a statistically better season on a poor team as a real feat. Others will point to the Stamps making the playoffs and Lemon contributing to a D that has had real impact. I think it will go to Mauldin.

Most Outstanding Special Teams Player – Mario Alford

‘Super’ Mario Alford joine Saskatchewan in Week 5 after a trade from the Montreal Alouettes. He is the fourth player in CFL history and first-ever Roughrider to complete the ‘Trifecta’. That is a kick return touchdown, punt return touchdown, & missed field goal return touchdown all in a single season.

Alford is also the 11th player in league history to score four or more kick return touchdowns in one season.

How did 99 Yards call it? This might be the toughest one to call. Worthy has the consistency but Alford had the more spectacular contributions and set team records along the way. I think voters might go with the razzle dazzle and pick Alford.

Most Outstanding Rookie – Dalton Schoen

Schoen led the league in receiving yards (1,441), average yards per catch (20.6 yards), 30+ yard receptions (12), second down conversion catches (41) and touchdowns (16).

In his first season in Blue & Gold, Schoen managed to grab the seventh-highest reception yardage total in Blue Bombers history.

Well over half of his catches were on 2nd down too keeping Winnipeg moving. Plus Schoen tied for the league lead in touchdowns scored.

How did 99 Yards call it? This is another one that seems like a lock. We have already suggested on this site that Schoen was a surefire winner of this award.

Most Outstanding Canadian – Nathan Rourke

Rourke made 10 starts and over that span passed for 3,349 yards and 25 touchdowns. He also recorded a league-high six 300+ yard games, including three over 400. Not to mention set a new single-season CFL record for completion percentage (78.7 per cent), while posting the second-highest passer rating of all-time (123.6) 

Rourke also broke the single game record for passing yardage mark for a Canadian QB. Surpassing a record set by fellow MOC winner (1980) Gerry Dattilio.

Had he stayed healthy for a full season he may well have been in the MOP conversation.

How did 99 Yards call it? This award also feels like we know who will win it. Depsite an injury shortened season, Rourke had such an impact you cannot see people looking past him.

Coach of the Year Award – Mike O’Shea

Mike O’Shea led the Blue Bombers to the West Division title with a club-record 15 wins. He now joins Bud Grant as the only Blue Bombers’ Coach to lead the team to 10+ wins for six straight seasons. Grant did it from 1957 to 1962, and O’ Shea is on a run that started in 2016.

The last Coach to win this award in back to back seasons was Montreal’s Charlie Taaffe (1999-2000).

How did 99 Yards call it? A franchise record setting 15 win season and chasing a threepeat? This looks to be going O’Sheas way.

The full list of who got what major category award is as follows:

Most Outstanding PlayerZach Collaros – Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Coach of the YearMike O’Shea – Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Most Outstanding Offensive LinemanStanley Bryant – Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Most Outstanding Defensive PlayerLorenzo Mauldin IV – Ottawa REDBLACKS
Most Outstanding Special Teams PlayerMario Alford – Saskatchewan Roughriders
Most Outstanding RookieDalton Schoen – Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Most Outstanding CanadianNathan Rourke – BC Lions

Banner Image; Zach Collaros picked up a second straight MOP award.  Image from

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: